General Information

General Admission Requirements


Academic Policies and Procedures

General Degree Requirements

Programs of Study

Academic Divisions

Off-Campus Studies

Courses of Instruction

Student Policies

Student Services

Business Affairs and Economic Development

Equal Opportunity Statement

Site Map/Index



Division of Communication and Performing Arts


Dr. Ray Scott Crawford


Rona Leber
Associate Dean


Jim Boyter

Lendah Siah
Administrative Assistant III


Professors: Dr. Ray Scott Crawford
Kathryn DeFatta-Barattini
Rona Leber (Program Director for Speech)
Paula Kaszuba
Stephen W. Slaughter (Program Director for Theatre)
Associate Professor: Dr. Michael D. Hart (Program Director for Music)
Assistant Professors: Bob Alexander
Gulnara Chandler
Instructors: Peggy Byers
Darrell Chitty
Pasqual "Pat" Divietro (Program Director for Communication Media)
Jonathan Elmore
Melanie Lea
Interim Instructor Mark Kirk


Jim Boyter

Keith Bruce
Coordinator of Broadcast Technology

Eric Crowder
Communication Coordinator

Rusty Johnson

Lendah Siah
Administrative Assistant III

Stella Thompson
Program Coordinator

David White
Performing Arts Technical Coordinator

Louis Williams
Media Specialist

Mission Statement

The guiding mission of the Communication and Performing Arts Division is to prepare students for successful placement or advancement in rewarding careers in Communication or Performing Arts related fields or to prepare students for transfer to four-year colleges and universities.

Our courses and programs provide a rich and rigorous curriculum that helps students understand, appreciate, and accomplish the artistic and technical challenges of their specific areas of study. Course work, productions and field projects provide practical application of those skills.

Associate Degrees

Associate of Applied Science in Communication Media. (formerly Telecommunications) The student chooses one of five concentrations: Mass Communication, Sound and Music Recording, Graphic Design/Computer Animation, Photography, or Digital Media. These concentrations draw from course work in the following areas of study: Broadcasting, Business of Music, Computer Animation, Film, Graphic Design, Media for the Ministry, Photography, Radio, Sound Recording Technology, and TV Production.

Five Concentrations


Associate of Arts Louisiana Transfer - Mass Communication Concentration. The goal of the Louisiana Transfer Associate Degree is to maximize the transfer process, meet the needs of students who enroll in a 2-year college with the intent to work toward a baccalaureate, and develop a universal transfer program for which the coursework completed in pursuit of the degree will be accepted by all public universities in the state.


Associate of Arts in Performing Arts. The student chooses a concentration in Music or Theatre. The concentration in Theatre includes the following areas of study: Acting, Costume Design, Directing, Lighting Design, Scene Design, Stage of Theatre Management, and Theatre Technician.

Two Concentrations

Certificate of Technical Studies (CTS)

The Division of Communication and Performing Arts offers the following certificates:

Technical Competency Area (TCA)

The Division of Communication and Performing Arts offers the following concentrations in technical competency area studies:

Communication Media

Performing Arts